A noble and honorable woman among us has died.


This past weekend, an elderly woman I worked with passed away.  Her name was Joan.  She was in her seventies.  My work commenced at the Idaho Department of Insurance over six years ago.  I met Joan in a meeting.  She was a bright and tenacious researcher and public policy analyst.  Her forte was health care policy.  She knew more about health insurance than anyone in the state!  For the years I knew her, until her husband’s death in 2911, Joan had cared for her bed-ridden husband.  Never a word of complaint, pity, or remorse was heard from Joan about her husband’s health and how it impacted her own and her family life.  After he died, she ended up in the hospital for a week or so; and upon her return to work; there was no word of complaint or looking back at her problems.  She was ever helpful, ever even-headed and non-complaining.  She was an example to me.  I am not sure of her faith.  I knew this: that she was a Christian.  Despite all of her obvious talents, persistence, obstacles, and troubles, she never complained.  There was not a hint of arrogance and there was always time for me when I had a question or wanted to review an issue with her.  I would see her in the hallway at my office, and I always said, “Hi Joan, how are you doing?”  She would answer, “doing okay.”  It took me awhile to decipher that answer, but in speaking the truth about her situation, you could tell she struggled every day to make it to work, to accomplish the care required by her husband, and to fulfill her job as a public policy analyst.  She was as full of answers about the law as she was full of questions.  I enjoyed working with this honorable and noble woman unknown in this modern world.  Joan was a light, a type of Christ in our midst..  She will be sorely missed.  She brought peace with her everywhere she went by living a well-ordered life in Christ.

Eternal rest grant unto them, O Lord, and let perpetual light shine upon them. May the souls of the faithful departed, through the mercy of God, rest in peace. Amen.

Leave a Reply

